Doctor (Oz’) Orders! (and biting cold at 52)


CCS Close Up

Dr Oz says I should eat curry.

Well, he didn’t exactly tell me PERSONALLY, but he mentioned it to the millions of viewers who watch his TV show. I don’t watch it…I just record it. That way I can fast forward to the important things. Like curry. One of my favorite spices.

I was fast forwarding along when I saw that Dr. Oz was talking about curry, so I hit the PLAY button to see what important thing he had to say. He said curry acts as an antidepressant. Or, more specifically, the curcumin in curry acts as an antidepressant.

I found that interesting because, to be perfectly honest, I’ve been a little blue. And I know what you’re thinking! You’re thinking my blues were brought on by my recently turning 52! Well, you’re wrong. I am absolutely NOT obsessed with my age! REALLY, I’m NOT! I’ve been 52 for seven whole days for golly sake! I’m used to it by now. (I’ll) Get over it!

No, my blues are a result of the bitingly cold weather we’ve endured this year. That’s right! I admit I have h-a-t-e-d this winter! It has been a cold, FREEZING, windy, snowy, power outagey, subzero-ey, icky winter and it has got. me. down. And it’s not just me. My fellow Iowans feel the same. I know because I took a poll. A small poll. Of like 6 people. But we all agreed that winter needs to end! Right now! I just want to be warm again!

And then I remembered. Wheat Belly CCS ing That in my Wheat Belly 30-Minute (or less) Cookbook (by William Davis, MD) there is a recipe for Curry Cauliflower Soup! AND, I had all the ingredients!

This recipe is found on page 93. It has cauliflower, onion, curry powder, canned coconut milk, broth, cumin, sea salt, and pepper (The pepper helps with absorption of the curry goodness. I also threw in a garlic clove, and used coconut oil for browning the veggies).

It’s a pureed soup, and since we prefer a little bite (in our soup) I shredded a carrot and thinly sliced some pea pods to go into the soup after it was pureed. This gave it a delightful crunch!
CCS Grated Goods

Ah, yes. The perfect meal. Curry Cauliflower SoupSitting in a sunny window on yet another subzero day, having my spirits lifted by hot Curry Cauliflower Soup.

You know what Dr. Oz? You were right! I feel better already!

If you’d like to read more about some of the health benefits of curry on the brain (neurogenesis, depression, reducing plaques found in Alzheimer’s) check out this article: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-farmacy/201301/eat-more-curry-brain-boost

Leave a Reply

