Making Lentils Lovely-er!


Dare I say you must make this recipe?

Go to your spice drawer. Check to see if you have this amazing list of spices: pepper, cumin, turmeric, coriander, cardamom, cayenne pepper, ground cloves, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

Now imagine all those lovely flavors mixed into a dressing for a salad with french lentils, capers, red bell pepper, and raisins!

I made this for supper last night. I used raisins in place of  currants and added diced red bell pepper and served it on a bed of arugula topped with feta cheese.

And! It’s EVEN BETTER the next day!

The only change I’d recommend is to cut back a tad on the salt.

Now go read this this blog: My New Roots

Make this salad. Really. It is that good!

And let me know what you think of it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. matrav32
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 19:31:47

    Sounds delicious….will regular brown lentils work?

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

    • Amy Nichols
      Apr 28, 2013 @ 19:36:48

      French lentils will hold their shape much better. The lentils I used were labelled “black lentils” from Whole Foods. Other lentils tend to get mushy. If you try brown lentils just be sure to cook them al dente!

      Reply

  2. matrav32
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 13:32:20

    I drove 15 miles to our specialty store looking for du Puy lentils! No luck….I don’t want to use brown ones if they end up mushy. Order online?

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

    • Amy Nichols
      Apr 29, 2013 @ 17:45:41

      I did a quick check at Amazon. They have Bob’s Red Mill french green lentils which should work. Barry Farm also carries French lentils. While the blogger recommends the du Puy, I had black lentils (365 brand from Whole Foods) in my pantry, which worked well. Let me know how it goes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

