Pizzathon: A Comparison of 3 GF Pizzas Plus 1 Other


Yesterday was St Patrick’s Day. Kev and I usually go to our favorite pub (Dublin Bay) in Ames, IA for delicious food and beer.  They make something called a Guinness Boxty which is a soft potato pancake folded taco style with a super delicious beef pot pie type filling with a lovely Guinness gravy.  There is nothing like it anywhere! It is so wonderful! My mouth, she waters!

But that lovely Guinness gravy is glutenous (as was the Guinness I, so sadly, must now forgo) . So this St Patrick’s Day I took a totally different direction!

I spent the afternoon with my coworkers having a gluten free pizzathon! My coworkers and I thought it would be fun to share different GF pizzas to give us all a chance to try them!

We ended up with three different crusts. All totally different. All three delicious in their own way. Which would be the winner?

Crust 1: Cornmeal

I wanted to try to make a cornmeal crust so, after searching online for ideas, I decided on this Gluten-Free Cornmeal Pizza Crust   because I liked that it had a variety of flours as well as cornmeal. After mixing the ingredients it looked…well, it was not visually appealing. And it was pretty difficult to spread onto parchment paper as the directions instruct. But I forged ahead and after baking it I broke off a small piece of it to try…and it was pretty good! It had a pleasant cornmeal taste and was nicely crispy. It would do! I let it cool and waited until time to go. I decided to pack up some black beans, diced tomatoes, and cilantro to go on top. For the pizza sauce I mixed salsa with tomato puree (to thicken the salsa). I liked this pizza! Everyone seemed to like it!  I declare it a winner!

Crust 2: Cauliflower

One coworker brought a cauliflower crust.  Her recipe was 1 cup grated cauliflower, 1 cup shredded Trader Joe’s goat cheddar cheese, 1 egg, and herbs like rosemary, oregano, and basil. Here is a recipe that looks similar: Basil Cauliflower Pizza.  The cauliflower crust was my favorite of the evening! We topped it with pesto, green olives, roasted red peppers, and Parmesan and it was a taste sensation! But it was wonderful even without toppings! This is a perfect way to use up extra cauliflower! I declare it a winner!

Crust 3: Chewy

The third pizza was from a mix Mamas Pizza Crust Mix by the Gluten Free Mama. This pizza was the most like glutenous pizza. It was bready with a nicely chewy crust.  It is hard to find “chewy” with GF pizza crusts! This is one I will try as well! We topped this one with pepperoni and cheese, it was delicious! I declare it a winner!

The Pizzathon was a big success! We shared pizza, wine and conversation…and I found 3 crusts that I’d happily have for dinner anytime!

Plus 1:

So tonight Kev and I finally had our St. Patrick’s feast! I found a recipe from King Arthur Flour called Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage and it was delightful! Wedges of cabbage, chunks of carrots, and potatoes cooked on the stove top till tender, the sliced corned beef set on top to heat during the last 5 minutes of cooking. So simple and so flavorful! I declare it a winner!

There you have it! Three winning GF Pizza recipes plus one Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe!

I hope you get a chance to visit these sites and try one of these winning recipes!

Leave a Reply

