Funny Ferritin & Five


When is 278 equal to 11? Never.

But for a brief moment in time this week I believed that my ferritin was at 278! Dare I believe it? It seemed physically impossible. To go from 6 to 278 in a matter of a few months. But isn’t that why I’m gluten free? To try to bring that ferritin number up? So when the Nurse Practitioner called me last Thursday to say my ferritin was 278 I was dumbfounded. Astounded! I felt like I was a miracle woman! Going gluten free really worked! Look out world, my ferritin has climbed from 6 to 278!! But. Could it really work that well? Cause a ferritin level if 278 is a little high…uh, is there something (else) wrong with me?

“Iron Maiden” was to be the title for my blog post. Either that or “I Am Ironwoman!” Ready to announce to the world, was I, that I had succeeded in raising my ferritin with the help of a glutenless diet. But I held my tongue. Closed the laptop. Kept my secret. It just seemed physically impossible for that number to climb so fast. So I waited for my lab results to arrive via snail mail. I wanted to see it for myself before I shared it.

And when the envelope arrived (May I have the envelope please?) it was ripped open ever-s0-eagerly and my eyes scanned the list for the one item that I cared most about.  And there it was in black and white: Ferritin…Eleven. Eleven? Eleven?? What happened to 278? I scanned the numbers until I found the only 278 on the list: transferrin. Oh. Well. That’s not ferritin.

Alas, I may not be able to name this post “Iron Maiden”, and I may not be “Ironwoman!” but I can’t let the disappointment of not being 278 blur the fact that I’ve risen from 6 to 11! Eleven is still really good! At least I’m climbing!

I can’t be disappointed! I expected slow and steady not fast and ferritous! I’d told my husband I would be happy if it had gained only one measly point–cause it’s only been a few months! But I gained 5! And hey, I’ve dropped 5 pounds to boot! Today, I declare five is my lucky number!

Next time, though, I’ll just wait for the envelope.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy B
    Feb 26, 2013 @ 11:02:03

    Achievable Health Shared with me your Blog and Journey!! I have started my own GF diet but not for my Iron but for my Thyroid. Thank you for sharing all of this! Cant wait to read more!!

    Reply

    • Amy Nichols
      Feb 26, 2013 @ 12:55:53

      Hi Amy!
      I hope you enjoy the blog! My next goal is to get a recipe plug in for the blog and post more recipes!! Let me know if I can be of any help with being GF!
      Amy

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Glutenless | Giving Up Gluten

Leave a Reply

