Leeky Turkey Soup for Breakfast!(?)


OK, it’s 3 PM and I’m tired.

This morning I made 4 loaves of Opt Out of Gluten Bread and Chicken Wild Rice Soup.  As the day went on I made GF cornbread and GF Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. Kevin made Shipwreck Casserole in the slow cooker. Boy Scouts, we are. Prepared for another GF week!

It’s the Chicken Wild Rice Soup (I know, the cookies and the shipwreck sound more interesting, stay tuned!) that I want to talk about . At least that’s what the cookbook called it. I’m calling it Leeky Turkey Soup. Much more accurate after I made a few changes.

I was supposed to make it yesterday for our supper. But as the day went on and suppertime drew near I realized it wasn’t going to happen. That’s where the gluten free back up plan comes into play. For me it was a slice of toasted GF bread and banana slices with a little peanut butter dabbed on each one. It doesn’t sound like much but it was enough!

So I had this recipe for Chicken Wild Rice Soup marked with my post-it note bookmark because I thought sounded yummy. It used leeks. I love leeks.

Yesterday I cooked a turkey breast so I could turn the Chicken Wild Rice soup into Turkey Wild Rice Soup. Turkey is a high iron meat.  I just don’t usually think of it beyond Thanksgiving. But since it is good for my iron I will be making it more of ten.

Well as the recipe assembled I ended up with something pretty different from the recipe I was supposed to be following!

Let me share how that came about:

Substituting turkey for chicken was pretty straight forward.

The recipe called for 2 leeks, sliced, only the white parts. Now, I hate to waste a perfectly good leek so I sliced them as far down as I felt I should go. That produced a lot of sliced leeks. It made the soup pretty leeky. But they add bulk to the soup. I like bulky soup.

It also called for 2 diced carrots and 2 stalks of celery. Nutritious. That’s good. I had a yellow pepper that needed used so I diced it up too. The more veggies the merrier.

Eight ounces of mushrooms got cut back because Kevin is not as fond of mushrooms as I am. Ok, he doesn’t like them. I do. So I sliced all but 4 which I’ll have later this week.

6 cups of chicken stock became one (32 ounce) box of chicken stock plus 2 of veggie stock.

No wild rice in the pantry. Brown will do.

Now, the only seasoning the recipe called for was fresh thyme and a bay leaf. It’s winter in Iowa. My fresh herbs are buried under snow right now. At least they would be had I not pulled them last fall. And I’m not going out and buying fresh thyme for soup. So I’m looking at this recipe and I’m thinking: that’s not much seasoning! A little thyme and a bay leaf? So I added dried thyme, the bay leaf, poultry seasoning, white pepper, and turmeric (remember the Turmeric Tea post?). What a pretty yellow color my soup became!

When it was done simmering I had soup for breakfast. Weird, I know! I was hungry! (Oh, and I ate it alone in the kitchen with no witnesses to give me “that” look) But think about it: protein & veggies! Isn’t that how we’re supposed to start our day? As a matter of fact, tomorrow I am taking it one step further. Tomorrow I am going to blend a serving of soup on my Vitamix, heat it up and drink it for breakfast! Oh, wait. We have a house guest staying over tonight…well Tuesday morning then! Tuesday I’m going to drink warm pureed soup for breakfast! I’ll let you know how that goes.

OK, enough jabbering.

Let me just give you the recipe:

Leeky Turkey Soup

2 cups cooked turkey, cubed

2 T oil for sauteing veggies

2 large leeks, thinly sliced (remember to wash them well because they can get dirt/sand in them)

2 stalks celery, finely chopped

2 carrots, chopped

1/2 yellow (or red) pepper, diced (actually, I would have added the whole thing if I had a whole one)

8 ounces sliced mushrooms (unless your spouse does not like mushrooms then cut back to an appropriate amount)

2 cloves garlic, minced (I love my Pampered Chef garlic press!)

6 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup Sherry (while I did not buy fresh thyme for this recipe I did buy a $7 bottle of sherry-I figure I’ll use it eventually)

1 bay leaf

This is where it gets a little muddy because I kept adding more seasonings until I thought it tasted good. So don’t take these as written in stone. Change them according to your taste.

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon turmeric

1/4 teaspoon white pepper

1 1/2 cups rice of your choice, cooked

Heat oil in large pot over medium-high heat. Add leeks, celery, carrots, yellow pepper, and mushrooms to the pot and cook, stirring often, until leeks are soft and mushrooms release their juices. Add garlic and cook, stirring for 1 minute.

Add chicken broth, sherry, thyme, bay leaf, poultry seasoning, turmeric, and white pepper, and cooked turkey and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes. Add rice and simmer 10 minutes more. Season if desired.

I had some leftover fresh parsley so I chopped it up and added it in the end. Optional.

This makes a lot of soup by the way! We will have to freeze some.

Now, if you make this be sure to try it for breakfast and let me know what you think!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Oh Annie! « Giving Up Gluten

Leave a Reply

