Turmeric Tea Time! (and it’s GF!)


I caught part of Dr Oz the other day (Ok, so I record all his shows and fast forward through parts I find frivolous and watch only the parts I deem necessary for a productive and healthy life). He had Dr. Sanjay Gupta on for a guest. They were talking about important stuff that got fast forwarded until Dr G shared his recipe for turmeric tea which he drinks at night to “calm his nerves.” Hmm..I could use some nerve calming!

I have been hearing a lot about turmeric lately. It seems it has a list of potential healthiness (as do a lot of herbs and spices). But turmeric interests me because it is reported to help with indigestion, may help the heart by preventing atherosclerosis, and may help prevent the sticky deposits on the brain which cause memory issues. And that is only the tip of the turmeric ice berg.

So in the interest of good health I have been putting a dash of turmeric in my meals. But Dr G said he makes a tea out of it! How fun is that? I love tea (though I limit it to non or low tannin tea due to the anemia).

Here is his recipe (with my comments in italics):

Dr G’s turmeric Tea

1 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened!)

1/2 tsp turmeric (go ahead and follow this link for more info)

1 tsp cinnamon (I used 1/2 tsp because 1 tsp sounded like a lot!)

1 tsp honey (I added a little stevia and vanilla extract)

1/4 tsp ginger (I used powdered but I think a little fresh grated would be lovely)

Directions

Heat the almond milk in a microwave, stir in the spices and drizzle the honey on top. (I heated it all together in a small pan, used a whisk to get the powdered spices mixed into the almond milk)

Now that is one powerhouse tea! Turmeric, cinnamon, AND ginger!

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor. I only work for one. So do a little googling on turmeric for yourself and see if you think it would be beneficial for you!

Cheers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. achievablehealth
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 09:57:17

    Another great recipe! I need to take some time off just to try all of these 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Leeky Turkey Soup for Breakfast!(?) « Giving Up Gluten

Leave a Reply

