Muesli Bread


Muesli Bread

Muesli Bread

To show his support for my journey into being gluten free, my husband bought me a cookbook, “The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook”, for Christmas.  I was attracted to the photo on page 29 for the Muesli Bread, which showed bits of green pistachios and red cranberries peaking out of a perfectly cut slice. I also really liked the ingredient list which includes Almond Butter, Eggs, Dried Apricots, Craisins, Hazelnuts, Sesame Seeds, and Sunflower Seeds. What a protein powerhouse!

For my first try at this recipe I made two changes:

Fewer craisins (mine are juice-sweetened) and added goji berries (because I love superfoods!)

No hazelnuts in the pantry so I used chopped Brazil nuts instead.

The author calls for baking it in a 7×3 inch loaf pan (which the author tells me I can special order from http://www.cheftools.com) but since I don’t have “that” pan I baked mine in 2 small (5.75×3) loaf pans that I’d found on Amazon a while back.

I baked it Saturday evening so I would have it for Sunday Morning, Day 1 of GF!

On Sunday morning I was so excited to cut into it to see the pretty bits of fruit and nuts! Looks did not disappoint! It looked LOVELY!

As I eagerly took my first bite I was…well…I was a little disappointed.  There were flavor bursts when I bit into the fruit and nuts but the body of the bread was bland despite the teaspoon of sea salt called for in the recipe. It was also a little dry which could have been my fault if I overbaked it in my smaller pans. But I love how healthy the ingredients are!

I think what this bread really needs is a nice punch from either a little cardamom or maybe some grated fresh ginger to set all the wonderful fruit and nuts off. I might even add a little coconut oil to keep it moist and try cutting back on the salt a tad.

Overall I count this recipe as a success! It has great potential! I look forward to trying it again!

I found an online source for the recipe here: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Muesli-Bread-367689.

If you try it let me know what changes you made and what you think of it!!

Leave a Reply

