Hello (again) Gluten Free!


I have been gluten free before. So I know it is no easy task to keep it out of your diet! Read your labels! Want to know what to look for? Want to feel overwhelmed? Go here: http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html and be amazed.  Next time you read a label take a look for it. You may be surprised. So, preparation is absolutely key to being gluten free. It is something you have to learn about before attempting.

In my preparation arsenal I have a fridge and pantry full of gluten free items and I have a handful of recipes to get us started this week.

I stocked up on some supplies at Costco yesterday. They had the most wonderful blackberries! If I’d known how good they were I’d have bought more! I already ate half of them so will need to go back to Costco this week! I bought a package of 6 peppers (2 red, 2 yellow, 2 orange) to go with the hummus and use for recipes. Kevin picked up a package of frozen berries for breakfast smoothies. We also picked up some cashews and almond butter.

After Costco we went to Trader Joe’s and read labels on frozen goods till we found a good variety to keep us supplied with lunches on those days there are no dinner leftovers. (Preparedness!!)

Another good snack is hard boiled eggs. I made enough to get me through the week.

Today I baked bread for my home-based business, Healthy Grains Bakery: 2 loaves of Nutty Goodness, 3 loaves of Healthy Harvest, and 3 loaves of Opt Out of Gluten Bread. I have one extra loaf of Nutty Goodness. Under normal circumstances I’d keep it. But things are not “normal” (depending on your definition of normal).  So I’ll need to find a home for it. I also have an extra loaf of my favorite gluten free bread: Opt Out of Gluten. This one we’ll keep!

When I was previously gluten free I had tried baking breads and other GF goods. Most were not successful. I’ve continued to experiment with baking GF and came up with Opt Out of Gluten Bread a few months ago. I chose the name Opt Out of Gluten instead of Gluten Free because I am still baking breads in my kitchen that do contain gluten so cross-contamination is possible.

Today I feel stocked up and prepared to face the first part of the week as a gluten free gal!

Leave a Reply

